A Special Kantele Weekend, August 10-12, 2018

May 24, 2018

More info at: New bows ready for the summer courses:


Surrounded by Sound – coming events

May 23, 2018

Eva Väljots and Arja will play old kanteletunes transcribed by A. O. Väisänen in the beginning of the 20th century. The concerts are part of Eva’s graduation concerts in Estonia. One concert in Tallinn on the 7th of June (Estonian Theatre and Music Museum, at 5 p.m.) and the other concert in Viljandi (Pärimusmuusika Ait) […]


Slow Art Day, April 14, 2018

March 25, 2018

An international event encouraging people to look at art slowly. The Ateneum Art Museum invites people to spend time relaxing and enjoying art – art always has time for you. Admission is included in the museum entrance fee or with a Museum Card. Enjoy a multi-sensory experience: Arja improvises on kanteles in the gallery 15, […]


Aino-score available

March 15, 2018

A tune for kantele orchestra (kanteles from 5 to 39 strings) and singers. From traditional themes arranged by Arja Kastinen (2017).  You can download the score and all parts for 5 € from here. A performance of  “Aino” (begins from 3’14”):


Music & well-being – two special kantele courses in the summer of 2018

December 01, 2017

In the summer of 2018,  we will have two very special kantele weekends, during which we will combine music and the thought of overall well-being. Small kanteles (from 5 through 15 strings) are excellent instruments both for beginners and for advanced musicians. It is easy to enjoy making music with them only after few hours […]